SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Book Dummies Series Presenting Faculty

 David San Angelo

January 16th, 1 – 3 pm EST / noon – 2 pm CST – Character Design, Color and More

Dive into the details of character design, color palettes, and explore characters for your next book dummy.  We will work through exercises as we learn tools to get to know our characters on the page. 

 

 Ebony Glenn

February 27th, 1 – 3 pm EST / noon – 2 pm CST – Creating Compelling Page-Turns

How do you create compelling page-turns that keep the reader (and the publisher) wanting more? This session covers thumbnails and other tools you’ll need to create your book dummy to keep readers turning those pages until the very end.

 

 Rob McClurken

March 13th, 3 – 5 pm EST / 2 – 4 pm CST – The Hook and the Book: Query Letters and Book Dummy Review

So you’ve created a book dummy, now what do you do?  A hook and a book dummy go hand in hand!  We’ll wrap up this 3-part series by exploring key elements of query letters and a faculty review of selected book dummies (first-come-first serve) for everyone to learn from.