SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Critique Fest 2021 Overview

Saturday, January 2, 2021

Online registration opens at noon EST (11 a.m. CST). Click  here to register.

 

Saturday, January 16, 2021

Early bird pricing ends

 

Monday, February 1, 2021

Application window for the RA scholarship closes at noon EST (11 a.m. CST).

 

Saturday, February 13, 2021

Online registration closes at noon EST/11 a.m. CST.

 

Sunday, February 14, 2021

Manuscripts for individual paid author critiques are due to sbwrittencrits@gmail.com by 11:59 p.m. EST/10:59 p.m. CST. You may send your manuscript earlier, once you’ve completed registration and paid the fees. We will accept only one manuscript, so please do not send successive versions. Click here for manuscript formatting and file naming requirements.

 

Friday, March 12, 2021

Author critiques returned to registrants on or before this date.

 

Friday night, March 12

 8 p.m. EST/7 p.m. CST

Opening keynote by Carmen Agra Deedy 

 

Saturday, March 13:  

11 a.m. EST10 a.m. CST

Key Revision Tools and Approaches by Harold Underdown.

 

1:30 p.m. EST/12:30 CST

Pitch Party. Kidlit agents Minju Chang, Emily Forney, Ameerah Holliday, and Kaitlyn Leann Sanchez will give feedback on as many pre-submitted pitches as possible in this hour-long event. Read about these amazing agents here.

 

Week of March 15

Participate with a small group of writers in a one-hour Critique Language Clinic with Harold Underdown. In this informative Q&A session, you’ll have a chance to ask questions about how to understand phrases from your own critique. You’ll learn from others’ questions, too, plus have a chance to view recordings of the other two clinics Harold will hold this week. 

 

April 15, 2021

Manuscripts for individual paid agent/editor critiques are due to sbwrittencrits@gmail.com on or before 11:59 p.m. EST/10:59 p.m. CST. We will accept only one manuscript, so please do not send successive versions. Click here for manuscript formatting and file naming requirements.

 

April 17, 2021

Once you’ve submitted your manuscript, the advice is to start writing another. So why not learn something new with Melissa Stewart, one of the shining stars of the nonfiction world!

Nonfiction 101: From ideas to proposals to sales, all the questions you were afraid to ask, by Melissa Stewart 

This seminar is included in the seminar-only ticket. 

 

Saturday, May 15, 2021

Individual paid acquiring faculty critiques will be returned to registrants!