SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Developing Book Dummies Schedule of Events

 

Developing Book Dummies

Saturday Meeting Dates

 

Recordings will be available for this online event

 

January 16th, 1pm – 3pm EST/ noon – 2 pm CST – Character Design, Color and More (David San Angelo, presenter)

Dive into the details of character design, color palettes, and explore characters for your next book dummy.  We will work through exercises as we learn tools to get to know our characters on the page. 

 

Assignment – Participants will illustrate a character from their own story or choose to add a unique spin on a classic story in the public domain (example: Alice in Wonderland). Come to the first session prepared with your story.

 

February 27th, 1pm – 3pm EST/ noon – 2 pm CST – Creating Compelling Page-Turns (Ebony Glenn, presenter)

How do you create compelling page-turns that keep the reader (and the publisher) wanting more? This session covers thumbnails and other tools you’ll need to create your book dummy to keep readers turning those pages until the very end.

Assignment – Participants will have completed story and character sketches, and full design from the previous session.

 

March 13th, 3pm – 5pm EST/ 2 – 4 pm CST – The Hook and the Book: Query Letters and Book Dummy Review (Rob McClurken, presenter)

So you’ve created a book dummy, now what do you do?  A hook and a book dummy go hand in hand!  We’ll wrap up this 3-part series by exploring key elements of query letters and a faculty review of selected book dummies (first-come-first serve) for everyone to learn from.  

Assignment – Participants will have completed the book dummy based on all other previous assignments.